About the Radiological Emergency Preparedness Program

Nearly three million people live within 10 miles of an operating nuclear power plant. In 2019, there were 58 commercial nuclear power plants in 29 states producing approximately 20 percent of the nation’s power. To help ensure that the health and safety of people living around commercial nuclear power plants would be adequately protected in the event of a nuclear power plant accident, FEMA established the Radiological Emergency Preparedness (REP) program, through which the agency:

  • Educates the residents in the neighboring communities about what they need to do to prepare for the possibility of a nuclear power plant accident, which would emit dangerous levels of radiation.
  • Coordinates the national effort to provide state, local, and tribal governments with planning, training, and exercise guidance and policies to increase their capability to prevent, protect against, mitigate the effects of, respond to, and recover from commercial nuclear power plant incidents.
  • Evaluates the emergency plans and level of preparedness of state, local and tribal governments, applicants and licensees to respond to a nuclear accident within the emergency planning zones surrounding, and outside and beyond the boundaries of, a nuclear power plant.

Learn More About REPP Efforts and Resources

Interactive REPP Regional Site Map

REPP Regional Site MapRegion 1 Region 2 Region 3 Region 4 Region 5 Region 6 Region 7 Region 8 Region 9 Region 10

Select a Region to Navigate to That Region's Page

REPP Regional Sites

Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont

Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virgina

Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, and Wisconsin

Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, and Nebraska

Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, Guam, American Samoa, Northern Mariana Islands, Marshall Islands, and Micronesia

New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, and U.S. Virgin Islands

Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee

Texas, Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, and Oklahoma

Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, and Wyoming

Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington